

Investing in rural people Investir dans les populations rurales Invertir en la población rural الاستثمار في السكان الريفيين

02 August 2019

## Announcements regarding the Vice-President of IFAD and the Associate Vice-President, External Relations and Governance Department

The Vice-President of IFAD, Ms Cornelia Richter, and the Associate Vice-President, External Relations and Governance Department, Ms Charlotte Salford will leave the Fund as of 31 October 2019 and 31 August 2019 respectively.

I take this opportunity to express my sincere gratitude to Cornelia and Charlotte and recognize their achievements and positive contribution to the work of IFAD. I wish them the very best in their future endeavours.

I am also pleased to announce the appointment of Ms Marie Haga, a Norwegian national, who will join IFAD as Associate Vice-President, External Relations and Governance.

Marie has extensive experience in conservation and food security, foreign affairs and politics. She will join IFAD from the Global Crop Diversity Trust, where she has been serving as Executive Director since March 2013. Previously she served with Norway's Foreign Service as a career diplomat and held various positions in the Norwegian Ministry of Foreign Affairs, including the Norwegian Mission to the United Nations in New York and the Embassy in New Delhi. She was appointed to and held the position of State Secretary/Deputy Minister in the Ministry of Foreign Affairs from 1997-1999.

Marie's political career includes serving as a Member of Parliament in Norway from 2001-2009. She also held three ministerial positions: Minister for Cultural Affairs (1999–2000), Minister for Local Government and Regional Development (2005–2007) and Minister for Petroleum and Energy (2007–2008).

In addition to these prestigious career milestones, Marie has served on several Boards, including as Chair of the Governing Board of the Norwegian Institute for Nature Research (2009–2013) and Chair of the Governing Board of the Industrial Development Corporation of Norway (2010–2013). She was elected Chair of the Peace Research Institute Oslo in 2015 and still holds this position.