



INTERNATIONAL FUND FOR AGRICULTURAL DEVELOPMENT

Governing Council – Twenty-Second Session

Rome, 17-18 February 1999

MEMBERSHIP OF THE EXECUTIVE BOARD

1. The Governing Council, at its Twentieth Session, elected the following List A Member States as members and alternate members to the Executive Board.

List A	Member	Alternate Member
	Canada	Finland
	France	Belgium
	Germany	Switzerland
	Italy	Austria
	Japan	Denmark
	Sweden	Norway
	United Kingdom	Netherlands
	United States	Australia

- At that time, it was decided, that in the last year of the Executive Board's three-year term of office, i.e., 1999, the United Kingdom and The Netherlands would alternate seats. The Governing Council is asked to note that, in this respect, effective 1 January 1999, The Netherlands will be a member of the Executive Board with the United Kingdom as its alternate member.
- Similarly, the Governing Council elected the following List C Sub-List C3 Member States as 3. members and alternate members to the Executive Board:

Sub-List C3 (Latin America and the Caribbean)

Member	Alternate Member
Brazil	Panama
Mexico	Argentina

The Governing Council is further invited to note that in accordance with the decision taken at the time of the elections, Mexico and Argentina alternated seats on 21 August 1998 with Argentina now being the member of the Executive Board and Mexico as its alternate member.



5. During the elections at the Twentieth Session of the Governing Council, agreement was also reached in List C by Sub-Lists C1 and C2 Member States with regard to the exchange of seats on the Executive Board. It was decided that, with respect to the agreements reached at the Twentieth Session among the Sub-Lists C1 and C2 Member States on the exchange of seats, any subsequent changes within the official term of office would require Governing Council endorsement. The endorsement of the Governing Council is therefore sought with regard to the following exchange of seats within the Sub-Lists C1 and C2 Countries:

(a) Sub-List C1 (Africa)

Côte d'Ivoire to be replaced by Cape Verde as alternate member to Egypt;

(b) Sub-List C2 (Europe, Asia and the Pacific)

Pakistan to be replaced by Sri Lanka as alternate member to China; and Jordan to be replaced by Georgia as alternate member to India.

6. Accordingly, with the endorsement by the Governing Council of the change in the seats for Sub-Lists C1 and C2 as set out in paragraph 5 and the exchange of seats noted in paragraphs 2 and 4, representation on the Executive Board for 1999 will be as shown in the attachment.



ATTACHMENT

1999 EXECUTIVE BOARD COMPOSITION

	Member	Alternate Member
List A	Canada France Germany Italy Japan Netherlands Sweden United States	Finland Belgium Switzerland Austria Denmark United Kingdom Norway Australia
List B	Kuwait Nigeria Saudi Arabia Venezuela	United Arab Emirates Libyan Arab Jamahiriya Indonesia Algeria
List C		
Sub-List C1	Egypt Kenya	Cape Verde Chad
Sub-List C2	China India	Sri Lanka Georgia
Sub-List C3	Argentina Brazil	Mexico Panama