Document: EC 2015/88/W.P.2

Agenda: 2

Date: 15 May 2015

Distribution: Public

Original: English



## Election of the Evaluation Committee Chairperson

### Note to Evaluation Committee members <u>Focal points:</u>

<u>Technical questions:</u>

Dispatch of documentation:

Ra it Pertev Secretary of IFAD Tel.: +39 06 5459 2254 e-mail: r.pertev@ifad.org Deirdre McGrenra Head, Governing Bodies Office Tel: +39 06 5459 2374 e-mail: gb\_office@ifad.org

Evaluation Committee — Eighty-eighth Session Rome, 26 June 2015

For: Approval

#### Election of the Evaluation Committee Chairperson

#### A. Background

- Concurrent with the approval of the revised IFAD Evaluation Policy (EB 2011/102/R.7/Rev.1), at its 102<sup>nd</sup> session,<sup>1</sup> the Executive Board approved the Terms of Reference and Rules of Procedure of the Evaluation Committee (EB 2011/102/R.47/Rev.1).
- 2. In line with the decision taken at the Board's sixty-first session in 1997, rule 1.2 of these Terms of Reference and Rules of Procedure states:

"The Evaluation Committee shall be composed of nine Executive Board members or alternate members appointed by the President pursuant to rule 11 of the Rules of Procedures of the Executive Board, as follows: four members from List A, two members from List B and three members from List C. The term of office of the Evaluation Committee shall be three years."

3. Rule 1.3 of the Terms of Reference and Rules of Procedure states, inter alia:

"The Committee shall elect its chairperson from List B and C Committee members."

4. At its 114<sup>th</sup> session in April 2015, the Executive Board approved the appointment of the following members of the Evaluation Committee for a term of office to end in April 2018:

List A: France, Netherlands, Norway and Switzerland

List B: Indonesia and Nigeria

List C:

Sub-List C1: Egypt (until 28 February 2017)

Ghana (from 1 March 2014 to April 2018)

Sub-List C2: India Sub-List C3: Mexico

- B. Requested decision
- 5. In accordance with rule 1.3 quoted above, the Committee is invited to elect a new Chairperson at its eighty-eighth session.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> Document (EB 2011/102/R.7/Rev.2) further revised at the 110<sup>th</sup> and 111<sup>th</sup> sessions of the Executive Board.

Annex EC 2015/88/W.P.2

# Historical background - Chairs of the Evaluation Committee of the Executive Board

Period	Member State
From 04/12/1987 to 30/11/1988	Bangladesh
From 01/12/1988 to 19/04/1990	Switzerland
From 20/04/1990 to 12/12/1991	Netherlands
From 13/12/1991 to 17/04/1996	Nigeria
From 18/04/1996 to 03/05/2000	Indonesia
From 04/05/2000 to 09/04/2003	Mexico
From 10/04/2003 to 09/09/2006	India
From 10/09/2006 to 18/04/2007	Mexico
From 19/04/2007 to 29/04/2009	Indonesia
From 23/06/2009 to 02/03/2011	Egypt
From 03/03/2011 to 03/04/2013	India
From 04/04/2013 to 22/04/2015	Indonesia