Document: EC 2012/72/W.P.2
Agenda: 3
Date: 5 June 2012
Distribution: Public
Original: English



Election of the Evaluation Committee Chairperson

Note to Evaluation Committee members

Focal points:

Technical questions:

Dispatch of documentation:

Paolo Ciocca Secretary of IFAD

Head, Governing Bodies Office Tel.: +39 06 5459 2374 e-mail: gb_office@ifad.org

Deirdre McGrenra

Tel.: +39 06 5459 2254 e-mail: p.ciocca@ifad.org

Luciano Lavizzari

Director

Independent Office of Evaluation of IFAD

Tel.: +39 06 5459 2274 e-mail: l.lavizzari@ifad.org

Evaluation Committee — Seventy-second Session Rome, 17 July 2012

For: **Approval**

Election of the Evaluation Committee Chairperson

A. Background

- 1. Concurrent with the approval of the revised IFAD Evaluation Policy (EB 2011/102/R.7/Rev.1), at its 102nd session, the Executive Board approved the Terms of Reference and Rules of Procedure of the Evaluation Committee (EB 2011/102/R.47/Rev.1).
- 2. In line with the decision taken at the Board's sixty-first session in 1997, rule 1.2 of these Terms of Reference and Rules of Procedure states:

"The Evaluation Committee shall be composed of nine Executive Board members or alternate members appointed by the President pursuant to rule 11 of the Rules of Procedures of the Executive Board, as follows: four members from list A, two members from list B and three members from list C. The term of office of the Evaluation Committee shall be three years."

3. Rule 1.3 of the Terms of Reference and Rules of Procedure states, inter alia:

"The Committee shall elect its chairperson from list B and C Committee members... ".

4. At its 105th session in April 2012, the Executive Board endorsed the appointment of the following members of the Evaluation Committee for a term of office to end in April 2015:

List A: Canada, Finland, Luxembourg and Norway

List B: Indonesia and Nigeria

List C:

Sub-List C1: Egypt (until December 2013)

Angola (from January 2014 - April 2015)

Sub-List C2: India

Sub-List C3: Brazil (until October 2013)

Mexico (from November 2013 - April 2015)

B. Requested decision

5. In accordance with rule 1.3 quoted above, the Committee is invited to elect a new Chairperson at its seventy-second session.

Annex EC 2012/72/W.P.2

List of the rotation of countries chairing the Evaluation Committee of the Executive Board

Period	Member State
From 04/12/1987 to 30/11/1988	Bangladesh
From 01/12/1988 to 19/04/1990	Switzerland
From 20/04/1990 to 12/12/1991	Netherlands
From 13/12/1991 to 17/04/1996	Nigeria
From 18/04/1996 to 03/05/2000	Indonesia
From 04/05/2000 to 09/04/2003	Mexico
From 10/04/2003 to 09/09/2006	India
From 10/09/2006 to 18/04/2007	Mexico
From 19/04/2007 to 29/04/2009	Indonesia
From 23/06/2009 to 02/03/2011	Egypt
From 03/03/2011 to 03/04/2012	India