Document: EC 2011/66/W.P.2

Agenda: 3

Date: 18 January 2011

Distribution: Public

Original: English



Election of the chairperson of the Evaluation Committee

Note to Evaluation Committee members

Focal points:

<u>Technical questions:</u>

Dispatch of documentation:

Paolo Ciocca Secretary of IFAD Tel.: +39 06 5459 2254 e-mail: p.ciocca@ifad.org **Deirdre McGrenra**Governing Bodies Officer
Tel.: +39 06 5459 2374
e-mail: gb_office@ifad.org

Luciano Lavizzari

Director, IFAD Office of Evaluation

Tel.: +39 06 5459 2274 e-mail: l.lavizzari@ifad.org

Evaluation Committee — Sixty-sixth Session Rome, 3 March 2011

For: Information

Election of the chairperson of the Evaluation Committee

I. Background

- 1. At its sixty-eighth session, the Executive Board approved the Terms of Reference and Rules of Procedure of the Evaluation Committee, in line with the decision taken at the Board's sixty-first session. In light of its approval in April 2003 of the IFAD Evaluation Policy, the Executive Board approved, at its eighty-third session in December 2004, further revision of the Committee's Terms of Reference and Rules of Procedure (EB 2004/83/R.7/Rev.1).
- 2. Rule 3 of the Terms of Reference and Rules of Procedure of the Evaluation Committee of the Executive Board states:

"The composition of the Evaluation Committee shall consist of nine Executive Board members or alternate members: four members from List A, two from List B and three from List C. The term of office of the Evaluation Committee shall be three years and coincide with the term of office of the Executive Board."

3. Rule 5 of the Terms of Reference and Rules of Procedure of the Evaluation Committee of the Executive Board states:

"The Committee will elect its Chairperson from List B and C Committee members. In the absence of the Chairperson during a scheduled meeting or field visit of the Committee, the Chair shall be temporarily assumed by another member selected by the Committee."

4. At its ninety-sixth session in April 2009, the Executive Board endorsed the appointment of the following members of the Evaluation Committee for a term of office to end in April 2012:

List A: Canada, Ireland, Netherlands and Sweden

List B: Indonesia and Nigeria

List C:

Sub-List C1: Egypt (April 2009 – December 2010)

Burkina Faso (January 2011 - April 2012)

Sub-List C2: India

Sub-List C3: Brazil (April 2009 – October 2010) Mexico (November 2010 – April 2012)

5. At the fifty-sixth session of the Evaluation Committee held on 23 June 2009, Committee members elected Egypt as chair of the Evaluation Committee, with a term to expire in December 2010. For the Committee's information, a full list of the rotation of countries chairing the Evaluation Committee is attached as an annex.

II. Requested decision

6. In accordance with rule 5 quoted above, the Committee is invited to elect a new chairperson at its sixty-sixth session.

Annex EC 2011/66/W.P.2

List of the rotation of countries chairing the Evaluation Committee of the Executive Board

Period	Member State
From 04/12/1987 to 30/11/1988	Bangladesh
From 01/12/1988 to 19/04/1990	Switzerland
From 20/04/1990 to 12/12/1991	Netherlands
From 13/12/1991 to 17/04/1996	Nigeria
From 18/04/1996 to 03/05/2000	Indonesia
From 04/05/2000 to 09/04/2003	Mexico
From 10/04/2003 to 09/09/2006	India
From 10/09/2006 to 18/04/2007	Mexico
From 19/04/2007 to 29/04/2009	Indonesia
From 23/06/2009 to 31/12/2010	Egypt