Document: Agenda: Date: Distribution: Original:

| EC 2009/56/W.P.2 | |
|------------------|--|
| 3 | |
| 12 June 2009 | |
| Public | |
| English | |

Ε



Election of the Evaluation Committee chairperson

Evaluation Committee — Fifty-sixth Session Rome, 23 June 2009

For: Information

Note to Evaluation Committee Members

This document is submitted for the information of the Evaluation Committee.

To make the best use of time available at Evaluation Committee sessions, members are invited to contact the following focal point with any technical questions about this document before the session:

Luciano Lavizzari

Director, Office of Evaluation telephone: +39 06 5459 2274 e-mail: <u>I.lavizzari@ifad.org</u>

Queries regarding the dispatch of documentation for this session should be addressed to:

Deirdre McGrenra Governing Bodies Officer telephone: +39 06 5459 2374 e-mail: <u>d.mcgrenra@ifad.org</u>

Election of the Evaluation Committee chairperson

A. Background

- 1. In 1997, at its sixty-first session, the Executive Board decided that the Evaluation Committee's membership should be in line with the current composition of the Executive Board, as follows:
 - List A: 4 seats
 - List B: 2 seats
 - List C: 3 seats
- 2. The seats are inclusive of the chairperson. The chairperson is selected from the List B or C members of the Committee, and the rotation of the chair is the prerogative of List B and C members.
- 3. At its sixty-eighth session, the Executive Board approved the terms of reference and rules of procedure of the Evaluation Committee, in line with the decision taken at the Board's sixty-first session. In light of its approval in April 2003 of the IFAD Evaluation Policy, the Executive Board approved, at its eighty-third session, further revision of the Committee's terms of reference and rules of procedure (EB 2004/83/R.7/Rev.1).
- 4. In April 2009, at its ninety-sixth session, the Executive Board endorsed the appointment of the following members of the Evaluation Committee for a term of office to end in April 2012:
 - List A: Canada, Ireland, Netherlands and Sweden List B: Indonesia and Nigeria List C: Sub-List C1: Egypt (April 2009 – December 2010) Burkina Faso (January 2011 – April 2012) Sub-List C2: India Sub-List C3: Brazil (April 2009 – October 2010)

Mexico (November 2010 – April 2012)

B. Requested decision

5. In accordance with rule 5 of the Evaluation Committee's terms of reference and rules of procedure, "the Committee will elect its Chairperson from its List B and C Committee members." The Committee is therefore invited to elect a new chairperson at its fifty-sixth session.