

Evaluation Committee 125th Session Rome, 19 June 2024

Election of the Chairperson of the Evaluation Committee

Document: EC 2024/125/W.P.2

Agenda: 2

Date: 22 May 2024

Distribution: Public

Original: English

FOR: APPROVAL

Useful references: Appointment of Members to the Subsidiary Bodies of the Executive Board($\underline{\text{EB } 2024/141/\text{R.}15} + \underline{\text{Add.}1}$); Revised Terms of Reference and Rules of Procedure of the Evaluation Committee of the Executive Board ($\underline{\text{EB } 2021/132/\text{R.}6/\text{Rev.}1}$); and Revised IFAD Evaluation Policy ($\underline{\text{EB } 2021/132/\text{R.}5/\text{Rev.}1}$).

Action: The Evaluation Committee is invited to elect its Chairperson at the current session.

Technical questions:

Claudia ten Have Secretary of IFAD Office of the Secretary e-mail: c.tenhave@ifad.org **Deirdre Mc Grenra** Chief Institutional Governance and Member Relations Office of the Secretary e-mail: d.mcgrenra@ifad.org

To access documentation related to this meeting please visit this <u>page</u>. Queries regarding issuance of documentation may be directed to <u>igmr@ifad.org</u>.

International Fund for Agricultural Development - www.ifad.org

Election of the Chairperson of the Evaluation Committee

A. Background

- Concurrent with the approval of the Revised IFAD Evaluation Policy (EB 2021/132/R.5/Rev.1) at its 132nd session, the Executive Board approved the revised Terms of Reference and Rules of Procedure of the Evaluation Committee of the Executive Board (EB 2021/132/R.6/Rev.1).
- 2. In accordance with the decision taken at the Board's sixty-first session in 1997 to align the membership of the Evaluation Committee with the composition of the Executive Board, rule 1.2 of these Terms of Reference and Rules of Procedure states that:

"The Evaluation Committee shall be composed of nine Executive Board members or alternate members appointed by the President pursuant to rule 11 of the Rules of Procedures of the Executive Board, as follows: four members from List A, two members from List B and three members from List C. The term of office of the Evaluation Committee shall be three years."

3. Rule 1.3 of the Terms of Reference and Rules of Procedure states, inter alia:

"The Committee shall elect its chairperson from List B and C Committee members."

4. At its 141st session in April 2024, the Executive Board approved the appointment of the following members of the Evaluation Committee for a three-year term of office, ending with the first Board in 2027 (<u>EB 2024/141/R.15</u> + <u>Add.1</u>):

List A: Finland, France (from 24 April 2024 to 30 June 2025) and Germany (from 1 July 2025 to April 2027), Netherlands (Kingdom of the) and Switzerland List B: Indonesia and Nigeria List C:

Sub-List C1: Egypt Sub-List C2: India Sub-List C3: Mexico

B. Requested decision

5. In accordance with rule 1.3 quoted above, the Committee is invited to elect a new Chairperson at its 125th session.

Historical background - Chairs of the Evaluation Committee of the Executive Board

Period	Member State
From 04/12/1987 to 30/11/1988	Bangladesh
From 01/12/1988 to 19/04/1990	Switzerland
From 20/04/1990 to 12/12/1991	Netherlands
From 13/12/1991 to 17/04/1996	Nigeria
From 18/04/1996 to 03/05/2000	Indonesia
From 04/05/2000 to 09/04/2003	Mexico
From 10/04/2003 to 09/09/2006	India
From 10/09/2006 to 18/04/2007	Mexico
From 19/04/2007 to 29/04/2009	Indonesia
From 23/06/2009 to 02/03/2011	Egypt
From 03/03/2011 to 03/04/2013	India
From 04/04/2013 to 22/04/2015	Indonesia
From 26/06/2015 to 17/04/2018	India
From 27/06/2018 to 21/04/2021	Indonesia
From 22/04/2021 to 18/10/2021	Vacant ¹
From 19/10/2021 to 17/03/2022	India
From 07/06/2022 to 24/04/2024	Mexico

¹ Two Evaluation Committee meetings were held during this period, namely EC113 and EC114. As an interim measure until the Chair of the EC was elected, these meetings were chaired by Mexico and Nigeria, respectively.