Document: EC 2021/113/W.P.2

Agenda: 2

Date: 2 June 2021

Distribution: Public

Original: English



Election of the Evaluation Committee Chairperson

Note to Evaluation Committee members

Focal points:

Technical questions:

<u>Dispatch of documentation:</u>

Luis Jiménez-McInnis

Deirdre Mc Grenra Chief

Secretary of IFAD Tel.: +39 06 5459 2254 e-mail: l.jimenez-mcinnis@ifad.org

Institutional Governance and Member Relations

Tel.: +39 06 5459 2374 e-mail: gb@ifad.org

Evaluation Committee — 113^{th} Session Rome, 30 June 2021

For: **Approval**

Election of the Evaluation Committee Chairperson

A. Background

- 1. Concurrent with the approval of the Revised IFAD Evaluation Policy (EB 2021/132/R.5/Rev.1) at its 132nd session, the Executive Board approved the revised Terms of Reference and Rules of Procedure of the Evaluation Committee (EB 2021/132/R.6/Rev.1).
- 2. In accordance with the decision taken at the Board's sixty-first session in 1997 to align the membership of the Evaluation Committee with the composition of the Executive Board, rule 1.2 of these Terms of Reference and Rules of Procedure states:

"The Evaluation Committee shall be composed of nine Executive Board members or alternate members appointed by the President pursuant to rule 11 of the Rules of Procedures of the Executive Board, as follows: four members from List A, two members from List B and three members from List C. The term of office of the Evaluation Committee shall be three years."

3. Rule 1.3 of the Terms of Reference and Rules of Procedure states, inter alia:

"The Committee shall elect its chairperson from List B and C Committee members."

4. At its 132nd session in April 2021, the Executive Board approved the appointment of the following members of the Evaluation Committee for a term of office to end with the first session of the Executive Board in 2024 (EB 2021/132/R.11 + Add.1):

List A: France, Ireland, Netherlands, Luxembourg (April 2021 – until the

first session of the Executive Board in 2022) and Switzerland (after the first session of the Executive Board in 2022 – until the first

session of the Executive Board in 2024)

List B: Indonesia and Nigeria

List C:

Sub-List C1: Cameroon (April 2021-until the first session of the Executive

Board in 2023) and

Egypt (after the first session of the Executive Board in 2023

- until the first session of the Executive Board in 2024)

Sub-List C2: India Sub-List C3: Mexico

B. Requested decision

5. In accordance with rule 1.3 quoted above, the Committee is invited to elect a new Chairperson at its 113th session.

Annex EC 2021/113/W.P.2

Historical background - Chairs of the Evaluation Committee of the Executive Board

Period	Member State
From 04/12/1987 to 30/11/1988	Bangladesh
From 01/12/1988 to 19/04/1990	Switzerland
From 20/04/1990 to 12/12/1991	Netherlands
From 13/12/1991 to 17/04/1996	Nigeria
From 18/04/1996 to 03/05/2000	Indonesia
From 04/05/2000 to 09/04/2003	Mexico
From 10/04/2003 to 09/09/2006	India
From 10/09/2006 to 18/04/2007	Mexico
From 19/04/2007 to 29/04/2009	Indonesia
From 23/06/2009 to 02/03/2011	Egypt
From 03/03/2011 to 03/04/2013	India
From 04/04/2013 to 22/04/2015	Indonesia
From 26/06/2015 to 17/04/2018	India
From 27/06/2018 to 21/04/2021	Indonesia