EB 2006/87/R.6 Distribution: Restricted 15 March 2006

Original: **English** Agenda Item 5(c) English



INTERNATIONAL FUND FOR AGRICULTURAL DEVELOPMENT **Executive Board – Eighty-seventh Session**

Rome, 19-20 April 2006

APPOINTMENT OF MEMBERS TO THE EVALUATION COMMITTEE

- The Evaluation Committee was established by decision of the Executive Board at its thirty-1. second session in December 1987. This decision provided, inter alia, for the appointment to the committee - for a period of two years - of three members of the Executive Board from each List, and for the chairperson to be elected by and from among the nine members of the committee. It further decided that once a chairperson had been elected, another member of the Executive Board should be appointed from the same List as that of the chairperson to replace him or her as a member of the committee.
- At its thirty-eighth session, the Executive Board changed the term of office of the committee members to three years, on the understanding that this would apply to the extent the respective members remained members of the Executive Board.
- At its sixty-first session, the Executive Board decided to redistribute the Evaluation Committee's membership, in line with the current composition of the Executive Board, as follows:

List A: 4 seats List B: 2 seats List C: 3 seats

- The seats would be inclusive of the chairperson. It was further agreed that the chair of the Evaluation Committee would rest permanently with Lists B and C, and that rotation of the chair was the prerogative of List B and C members.
- At the same session, the Executive Board also decided to align the term of office of Evaluation Committee members with that of the Executive Board membership.
- At its seventy-eighth session, the Executive Board endorsed the appointment of the following 6. members to the Evaluation Committee for a term of office to end in April 2006:

Belgium, Canada (subsequently replaced by Ireland), Germany and List A:

Switzerland

List B: Indonesia and Nigeria

List C:

Sub-List C1: Cameroon Sub-List C2: India Sub-List C3: Mexico

- 7. The Representative of India was elected by the Evaluation Committee as its chairperson. The previous chair, whose term of office ended in April 2003, was the Representative of Mexico.
- 8. The Executive Board is hereby invited to appoint the members of the Evaluation Committee for the three-year period ending in April 2009.
- 9. The attachment to this document, provided for reference purposes, sets out the new Executive Board composition as elected at the twenty-ninth session of the Governing Council on 16 February 2006.
- 10. At its sixty-eighth session, the Executive Board approved the terms of reference and rules of procedure of the Evaluation Committee, in line with the decision taken at the Board's sixty-first session. The rules of procedure provide, inter alia, that membership of the committee shall consist of nine Executive Board members or alternate members. The terms of reference and rules of procedure of the Evaluation Committee are contained in document EB 99/68/R.12, which can be accessed on the IFAD website. In light of its approval in April 2003 of the IFAD Evaluation Policy, the Executive Board approved further revision of the committee's terms of reference and rules of procedure at its eighty-third session in December 2004. These new terms of reference and rules of procedure can be accessed on the IFAD website (document EB 2004/83/R.7/Rev.1).

ATTACHMENT

EXECUTIVE BOARD COMPOSITION FOR THE THREE-YEAR TERM 2006-2008

Member Alternate Member

LIST A

Finland Canada France Belgium Germany Switzerland Italy Greece Japan Denmark Norway Sweden

Netherlands (2007-2008) United Kingdom of Great Britain and

Northern Ireland (2007-2008)

Netherlands (2006)

United Kingdom of Great Britain and

Northern Ireland (2006)

United States of America Spain

(The Netherlands and the United Kingdom will alternate seats for the years 2007-2008.)

LIST B

List B has agreed that the following composition will be effective for a one-year period, as of 16 February 2006:

Kuwait United Arab Emirates

Nigeria Oatar Saudi Arabia Indonesia Venezuela (Bolivarian Republic of) Algeria

Any changes to or confirmation of the above composition for the second and third year of the term will be submitted to the relevant session of the Governing Council for election.

LIST C

SUB-LIST C1 - Africa

Mali Egypt South Africa Cameroon

SUB-LIST C2 - Europe, Asia and the Pacific

China Pakistan India Turkey (2006) Yemen (2007)

Republic of Korea (2008)

SUB-LIST C3 - Latin America and the Caribbean

Guatemala Brazil Mexico Argentina