Distribution: Restricted 26 February 2003 EB 2003/78/R.42

Original: **English** Agenda Item 14(c) **English** 



# INTERNATIONAL FUND FOR AGRICULTURAL DEVELOPMENT **Executive Board - Seventy-Eighth Session**

Rome, 9-10 April 2003

# ELECTION OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE GOVERNING COUNCIL TO THE IFAD STAFF PENSION COMMITTEE

- At its Seventy-Fourth Session in December 2001, the Executive Board elected the following members and alternate members to represent the Governing Council on the IFAD Staff Pension Committee for a period of three years ending on 30 September 2004:
  - Mr R.J. Huber (Germany), Member
  - Ms S. Toro (Finland), First Alternate Member
  - Mr Y. Tensue (Eritrea), Second Alternate Member
- 2. As both Mr Huber and Ms Toro have left Rome, and given that elections are ad personam, the Board is now invited to elect two new members representing the Governing Council on the Committee, to serve the unexpired period of Mr Huber's and Ms Toro's terms.
- A list of persons who have served to date either as members or alternate members representing the Governing Council is provided in Attachment I.
- 4. Information regarding the representation of the Governing Council on the IFAD Staff Pension Committee may be found in Attachment II.
- 5. The Executive Board is invited to note that the current member and alternate member representing the President of IFAD are respectively Ms T. Panuccio and Ms E. Tewolde a.i.; and the member and alternate member currently representing the staff are respectively Mr J. McGhie and Ms P. Henley.



### ATTACHMENT I

# MEMBERS AND ALTERNATE MEMBERS REPRESENTING THE GOVERNING COUNCIL ON THE IFAD STAFF PENSION COMMITTEE

A. J. Peckham (United Kingdom) 01.09.78 - 01.09.80

## **MEMBER**

A. Maziq (Libyan Arab Jamahiriya)	19.09.80 - 18.08.82				
M. Abdelhadi (Tunisia)	20.04.83 - 12.02.85				
Y. A. Hamdi (Egypt)	13.02.85 - 01.12.85				
A. E. A. El-Gazzar (Egypt)	30.04.86 - 31.05.88				
A. Y. A. Bukhari (Saudi Arabia)	15.09.88 - 26.03.90				
M. Deregibus (Argentina)	04.10.90 - 23.06.92				
W. Elkhereiji (Saudi Arabia)	09.09.92 - 31.08.94				
A. Ben Souleiman Al-Aquil (Saudi Arabia)	13.04.95 - 30.09.95				
J. Robles-Aguilar (Mexico)	01.10.95 - 30.09.98				
S. Masarweh (Jordan)	01.10.98 - 30.09.00				
N. Gangadharan (India)	01.10.00 - 30.09.01				
R. J. Huber (Germany)	06.12.02 - 31.12.02				
ALTERNATE MEMBER					
S. Aidara (Senegal)	01.09.78 - 12.02.82				
K. E. Norrman (Sweden)	01.04.82 - 01.12.83				
C. A. Hartman (Finland)	01.09.84 - 30.04.87				
K. Obata (Japan)	13.02.88 - 15.03.89				
M. Deregibus (Argentina)	14.09.89 - 03.10.90				
<ul><li>M. Deregibus (Argentina)</li><li>R. Seifman (United States)</li></ul>	14.09.89 - 03.10.90 14.09.89 - 05.08.91				
R. Seifman (United States)	14.09.89 - 05.08.91				
R. Seifman (United States) W. Elkhereiji (Saudi Arabia)	14.09.89 - 05.08.91 04.10.90 - 08.09.92				
R. Seifman (United States) W. Elkhereiji (Saudi Arabia) I. di Giovan Battista (Argentina)	14.09.89 - 05.08.91 04.10.90 - 08.09.92 09.09.92 - 30.09.95				
R. Seifman (United States) W. Elkhereiji (Saudi Arabia) I. di Giovan Battista (Argentina) D. Ertle (Germany)	14.09.89 - 05.08.91 04.10.90 - 08.09.92 09.09.92 - 30.09.95 09.09.92 - 30.09.95				
R. Seifman (United States) W. Elkhereiji (Saudi Arabia) I. di Giovan Battista (Argentina) D. Ertle (Germany) A. Ben Souleiman Al-Aquil (Saudi Arabia)	14.09.89 - 05.08.91 04.10.90 - 08.09.92 09.09.92 - 30.09.95 09.09.92 - 30.09.95 01.10.95 - 30.09.98				
R. Seifman (United States) W. Elkhereiji (Saudi Arabia) I. di Giovan Battista (Argentina) D. Ertle (Germany) A. Ben Souleiman Al-Aquil (Saudi Arabia) Tang Zhengping (China)	14.09.89 - 05.08.91 04.10.90 - 08.09.92 09.09.92 - 30.09.95 09.09.92 - 30.09.95 01.10.95 - 30.09.98 13.04.95 - 30.09.98				
R. Seifman (United States) W. Elkhereiji (Saudi Arabia) I. di Giovan Battista (Argentina) D. Ertle (Germany) A. Ben Souleiman Al-Aquil (Saudi Arabia) Tang Zhengping (China) K. G. Dilg (Germany)	14.09.89 - 05.08.91 04.10.90 - 08.09.92 09.09.92 - 30.09.95 09.09.92 - 30.09.95 01.10.95 - 30.09.98 13.04.95 - 30.09.98 01.10.98 - 31.12.99				



#### ATTACHMENT II

### IFAD STAFF PENSION COMMITTEE

- 1. Article 4 of the Regulations of the United Nations Joint Staff Pension Fund (UNJSPF), of which IFAD became a member organization on 1 January 1978, provides that it shall be administered by the United Nations Joint Staff Pension Board (UNJSPB), a staff pension committee for each member organization, and a secretariat to the UNJSPB and each such committee. Article 6(c) of the Regulations provides that the staff pension committees of the United Nations specialized agencies "shall consist of members and alternate members chosen by the body of the organization corresponding to the General Assembly, its chief administrative officer, and its participants in service, in such a manner that the number representing each shall be equal, and in the case of the participants, that the members and alternate members shall themselves be participants in the service of the organization. Each member organization shall make rules for the election or appointment of the members and alternate members of its committee".
- 2. Pursuant to the aforementioned regulations, the IFAD Staff Pension Committee ("the Committee") was formally constituted on 13 February 1979. The Committee adopted its own rules of procedure, which stipulate that three members and alternates should be appointed or elected for a three-year term and that they should be eligible for reappointment or re-election.
- 3. In accordance with the UNJSPF regulations, the Committee comprises:
  - one member and one alternate from the staff, representing the President of IFAD;
  - one member and one alternate selected by the staff of IFAD; and
  - one member and one alternate selected by the Executive Board on behalf of the Governing Council (in accordance with the Council's delegation of power to the Board under Resolution 77/2 adopted at the First Session of the Council). However, at the Executive Board meeting in September 1989, it was agreed that one member and **two** alternates should represent the Governing Council given that there is normally some degree of turnover on the Board over any three-year period.