Distribution: Restricted EB 2003/78/R.19 5 March 2003 Original: English Agenda Item 8(c) English



IFAD

INTERNATIONAL FUND FOR AGRICULTURAL DEVELOPMENT Executive Board – Seventy-Eighth Session

Rome, 9-10 April 2003

APPOINTMENT OF MEMBERS TO THE EVALUATION COMMITTEE

- 1. The Evaluation Committee was established by decision of the Executive Board at its Thirty-Second Session in December 1987. This decision provided, *inter alia*, for the appointment, for a period of two years, of three members of the Executive Board from each List, and for a chairperson elected from among themselves by the nine members of the committee. It further decided that once a chairperson had been elected, another member of the Executive Board should be appointed from the same List as that of the chairperson to replace him or her as a member of the committee.
- 2. At its Thirty-Eighth Session, the Executive Board changed the term of office of the committee to three years, on the understanding that this would apply to the extent the respective members remained members of the Executive Board.
- 3. At its Sixty-First Session, the Executive Board decided to redistribute the Evaluation Committee's membership, in line with the current composition of the Executive Board, as follows:

List A: 4 seats List B: 2 seats List C: 3 seats

- 4. The seats would be inclusive of the chairperson. It was further agreed that the chair of the Evaluation Committee would rest permanently with Lists B and C, and that rotation of the chair was the prerogative of List B and C members.
- 5. At the same session, the Executive Board also decided to align the term of office of the Evaluation Committee with that of the Executive Board.
- 6. At its Sixty-Ninth Session, the Executive Board endorsed the appointment of the following members to the Evaluation Committee for a term of office to end in April 2003:

List A: Belgium, Canada, Germany and Switzerland

List B: Indonesia, Nigeria

List C:

Sub-List C1: Angola

الِّر

Sub-List C2: Sri Lanka (for the year 2000)

Pakistan (for the year 2001) Romania (for the year 2002)

Sub-List C3: Mexico

7. The Representative of Mexico was elected by this Evaluation Committee as its chairperson. The chair of the previous Evaluation Committee, whose term of office ended in April 2000, was held by the Representative of Indonesia.

- 8. The Executive Board is hereby invited to appoint the members of the new Evaluation Committee for a period of three years, ending April 2006.
- 9. The attachment to this document, provided for reference purposes, sets out the new Executive Board composition as elected at the Twenty-Fifth Anniversary Session of the Governing Council on 20 February 2003.
- 10. At its Sixty-Eighth Session, the Executive Board approved the Terms of Reference and Rules of Procedure of the Evaluation Committee, in line with the decision taken at its Sixty-First Session. The Rules of Procedure provide, *inter alia*, that membership of the committee shall consist of nine Executive Board members or alternate members. The Terms of Reference and Rules of Procedure of the Evaluation Committee are contained in document EB 99/68/R.12, which can be accessed on the IFAD Internet website.



ATTACHMENT

EXECUTIVE BOARD COMPOSITION FOR THE THREE-YEAR TERM OF OFFICE OF 2003-2005

Member Alternate Member

LIST A

Canada Ireland
France Belgium
Germany Switzerland
Italy Austria
Japan Denmark

The Netherlands (2003-2004) United Kingdom (2003-2004)

Sweden Norway

United Kingdom (2005) The Netherlands (2005)

United States Australia

(The Netherlands and the United Kingdom will alternate seats for the the year 2005.)

LIST B

Kuwait United Arab Emirates

Nigeria -

Saudi Arabia Indonesia Venezuela Algeria

(The Governing Council decided that, during the three-year term of office, the List B membership could be modified to include any member currently ineligible at the time of election that might subsequently acquire eligibility to the Board.)

LIST C

SUB-LIST C1

Africa

Cameroon Sudan
Egypt Mozambique

SUB-LIST C2

Europe, Asia and the Pacific

China (2003-2004) Pakistan (2003)

Sri Lanka (2004)

India (2003-2005) Romania (2003)

Republic of Korea (2004-2005)

Pakistan (2005) China (2005)

SUB-LIST C3

Latin America and the Caribbean

Brazil (2003-2005) Panama (2003)

Guatemala (2004-2005)

Mexico (2003-2005) Argentina (2003-2005)