Distribution: Restricted EB 2000/70/R.26 13 September 2000

Original: **English** Agenda Item 12(d) **English**



INTERNATIONAL FUND FOR AGRICULTURAL DEVELOPMENT

Executive Board – Seventieth Session

Rome, 13-14 September 2000

ELECTION OF A REPRESENTATIVE OF THE GOVERNING COUNCIL TO THE IFAD STAFF PENSION COMMITTEE

- Article 4 of the regulations of the United Nations Joint Staff Pension Fund (UNJSPF), of which IFAD became a member organization on 1 January 1978, provides that it shall be administered by the United Nations Joint Staff Pension Board (UNJSPB), a staff pension committee for each member organization, and a secretariat to the UNJSPB and each such committee. Article 6(c) of the regulations provides that the staff pension committees of the UN specialized agencies "shall consist of members and alternate members chosen by the body of the organization corresponding to the General Assembly, its chief administrative officer, and its participants in service, in such a manner that the number representing each shall be equal, and in the case of the participants, that the members and alternate members shall themselves be participants in the service of the organization. Each member organization shall make rules for the election or appointment of the members and alternate members of its committee".
- 2. Pursuant to the aforementioned regulations, the IFAD Staff Pension Committee ("the Committee") was formally constituted on 13 February 1979. The Committee adopted its own rules of procedure, which stipulate that three members and alternates should be appointed or elected for a three-year term and that they should be eligible for reappointment or re-election.
- 3. In accordance with the UNJSPF regulations, the Committee comprises:
 - one member and one alternate from the staff, representing the President of IFAD;
 - one member and one alternate selected by the staff of IFAD; and
 - one member and one alternate selected by the Executive Board on behalf of the Governing Council (in accordance with the Council's delegation of power to the Board under Resolution 77/2 adopted at the First Session of the Council). However, at the Executive Board meeting in September 1989, it was agreed that one member and two alternates should represent the Governing Council given that there is normally some degree of turnover on the Board over any three-year period.

- ال ال
- 4. The current member and alternate member representing the President of IFAD are, respectively, Mr Jean-Louis Lawson and Ms Margaret Simon; and the member and alternate member currently representing the staff are, respectively, Mr John McGhie and Ms Penny Henley.
- 5. At its Sixty-Fourth Session in September 1998, the Executive Board elected the following members and alternate members of the IFAD Staff Pension Committee for a period of three years ending on 30 September 2001:

Ambassador Masarweh (Jordan), Member Mr Dilg (Germany), First Alternate Member¹ Ms Toro (Finland), Second Alternate Member

- 6. Ambassador Masarweh has informed the Fund that he will be leaving Rome at the end of September 2000. Accordingly, given that elections are *ad personam*, the Board is now invited to elect a new member representing the Governing Council on the Committee, to serve the unexpired period of Ambassador Masarweh's term.
- 7. Attached is a list of persons who have served to date either as members or alternate members representing the Governing Council.

At its Sixty-Ninth Session, the Executive Board elected Mr Rudolf J. Huber of Germany to serve the unexpired term of Mr Dilg, who had left Rome.



ATTACHMENT

MEMBERS AND ALTERNATE MEMBERS REPRESENTING THE GOVERNING COUNCIL ON THE IFAD STAFF PENSION COMMITTEE

MEMBER

A.J. Peckham (United Kingdom)	01.09.78 - 01.09.80
A. Maziq (Libyan Arab Jamahiriya)	19.09.80 - 18.08.82
M. Abdelhadi (Tunisia)	20.04.83 - 12.02.85
Y.A. Hamdi (Egypt)	13.02.85 - 01.12.85
A.E.A. El-Gazzar (Egypt)	30.04.86 - 31.05.88
A.Y.A. Bukhari (Saudi Arabia)	15.09.88 - 26.03.90
M. Deregibus (Argentina)	04.10.90 - 23.06.92
W. Elkhereiji (Saudi Arabia)	09.09.92 - 31.08.94
A. Ben Souleiman Al-Aquil (Saudi Arabia)	13.04.95 - 30.09.95
J. Robles-Aguilar (Mexico)	01.10.95 - 30.09.98
S. Masarweh (Jordan)	01.10.98 - 30.09.00

ALTERNATE MEMBER

S. Aidara (Senegal)	01.09.78 - 12.02.82
K.E. Norrman (Sweden)	01.04.82 - 01.12.83
C.A. Hartman (Finland)	01.09.84 - 30.04.87
K. Obata (Japan)	13.02.88 - 15.03.89
M. Deregibus (Argentina)	14.09.89 - 03.10.90
R. Seifman (United States)	14.09.89 - 05.08.91
W. Elkhereiji (Saudi Arabia)	04.10.90 - 08.09.92
I. di Giovan Battista (Argentina)	09.09.92 - 30.09.95
D. Ertle (Germany)	09.09.92 - 30.09.95
A. Ben Souleiman Al-Aquil (Saudi Arabia)	01.10.95 - 30.09.98
Tang Zhengping (China)	13.04.95 - 30.09.98
K.G. Dilg (Germany)	01.10.98 - 31.12.99
S. Toro (Finland)	01.10.98 –
R.J. Huber (Germany)	04.05.00 -