

# IFAD INTERNATIONAL FUND FOR AGRICULTURAL DEVELOPMENT Executive Board – Sixty-Ninth Session

Rome, 3-4 May 2000

## **APPOINTMENT OF MEMBERS TO THE EVALUATION COMMITTEE**

1. The Evaluation Committee was established by decision of the Executive Board at its Thirty-Second Session in December 1987. This decision provided, *inter alia*, for the appointment, for a period of two years, of three members of the Executive Board from each List, and for a chairperson elected from among themselves by the nine members of the committee. It further decided that once a chairperson had been elected, another member of the Executive Board should be appointed from the same List as that of the chairperson to replace him or her as a member of the committee.

2. At its Thirty-Eighth Session, the Executive Board changed the term of office of the committee to three years, on the understanding that this would apply to the extent the respective members remained members of the Executive Board.

3. At its Sixty-First Session, the Executive Board decided to redistribute the Evaluation Committee's membership, in line with the current composition of the Executive Board, as follows:

List A:	4 seats
List B:	2 seats
List C:	3 seats

4. The seats would be inclusive of the chairperson. It was further agreed that the chair of the Evaluation Committee would rest permanently with Lists B and C, and that rotation of the chair was the prerogative of List B and C members.

5. Accordingly, at its Sixty-First Session, the Executive Board endorsed the appointments of the following members to the Evaluation Committee:

List A	List B	List C
Belgium	Indonesia (Chairperson)	Egypt
Germany	Libyan Arab Jamahiriya	India
Switzerland		Panama
United States		

6. At the same session, the Executive Board also decided to align the term of office of the Evaluation Committee with that of the Executive Board. Accordingly, the term of office of the current committee will end in April 2000.

7. In light of the foregoing, the Executive Board is hereby invited to appoint the members of the new Evaluation Committee for a period of three years, ending April 2003.

8. The attachment to this document, provided for reference purposes, sets out the new Executive Board composition as elected at the Twenty-Third Session of the Governing Council on 17 February 2000.

9. At its Sixty-Eighth Session, the Executive Board approved the Terms of Reference and Rules of Procedure of the Evaluation Committee, in line with the decision taken at its Sixty-First Session. The Rules of Procedure provide, *inter alia*, that membership of the committee shall consist of nine Executive Board members or alternate members. The Terms of Reference and Rules of Procedure of the Evaluation Committee are contained in document EB 99/68/R.12, which can be accessed on the IFAD Internet website.

#### ATTACHMENT

### EXECUTIVE BOARD COMPOSITION FOR THE THREE-YEAR TERM OF OFFICE OF 2000-2002

#### MEMBER

#### ALTERNATE MEMBER

#### LIST A

Canada	Spain
France	Belgium
Germany	Switzerland
Italy	Portugal
Japan	Denmark
Netherlands	United Kingdom
Norway	Sweden
United States	Australia

(The Netherlands and the United Kingdom will alternate seats for the last two years of the term of office, i.e., 2001, 2002.)

#### LIST B

Kuwait	United Arab Emirates
Nigeria	
Saudia Arabia	Indonesia
Venezuela	Algeria

(It was decided that, during the one-year span between February 2000 and February 2001, the List B Membership could be modified to include any currently ineligible member that might acquire eligibility to the Board during that period.)

#### LIST C

Sub-List C1 Africa

Angola Tunisia Egypt Eritrea

Sub-List C2 Europe, Asia and the Pacific

China

India

Sri Lanka (2000) Pakistan (2001 and 2002)

Republic of Korea (2000) Bangladesh (2001) Romania (2002)

#### Sub-List C3 Latin America and the Caribbean

Brazil Mexico Panama Argentina