Distribution: Restricted EB 98/64/R.34 22 July 1998
Original: English Agenda Item 15(a) English



IFAD

INTERNATIONAL FUND FOR AGRICULTURAL DEVELOPMENT

Executive Board - Sixty-Fourth Session

Rome, 9-10 September 1998

ELECTION OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE GOVERNING COUNCIL TO THE IFAD STAFF PENSION COMMITTEE

- 1. Article 4 of the regulations of the United Nations Joint Staff Pension Fund (UNJSPF), of which IFAD became a member organization on 1 January 1978, provides that it shall be administered by the United Nations Joint Staff Pension Board (UNJSPB), a staff pension committee for each member organization, and a secretariat to the UNJSPB and each such committee. Article 6(c) of the regulations provides that the staff pension committees of the UN specialized agencies "shall consist of members and alternate members chosen by the body of the organization corresponding to the General Assembly, its chief administrative officer, and its participants in service, in such a manner that the number representing each shall be equal, and in the case of the participants, that the members and alternate members shall themselves be participants in the service of the organization. Each member organization shall make rules for the election or appointment of the members and alternate members of its committee".
- 2. Pursuant to the aforementioned regulations, the IFAD Staff Pension Committee ("the Committee") was formally constituted on 13 February 1979. The Committee adopted its own rules of procedure, which stipulate that three members and alternates should be appointed or elected for a three-year term and that they should be eligible for reappointment or re-election.
- 3. In accordance with the UNJSPF regulations, the Committee comprises:
 - one member and one alternate from the staff, representing the President of IFAD;
 - one member and one alternate selected by the staff of IFAD; and
 - one member and one alternate selected by the Executive Board on behalf of the Governing Council (in accordance with the Council's delegation of power to the Board under Resolution 77/2 adopted at the First Session of the Council). However, at the Executive Board meeting in September 1989, it was agreed that one member and **two** alternates should represent the Governing Council given that there is normally some degree of turnover on the Board over any three-year period.

- الر
- 4. The current member and alternate member representing the President of IFAD are, respectively, Mr Abdou Ciss and Ms Margaret Simon; and the member and alternate member currently representing the staff are, respectively, Mr John McGhie and Ms Penny Henley.
- 5. At its Fifty-Fourth Session in April 1995, the Executive Board elected the following members and alternate members of the IFAD Staff Pension Committee for a period of three years ending on 30 September 1998.

Mr José Robles-Aguilar, (Mexico), Member Mr Ahmed Ben Souleiman Al-Aquil (Saudi Arabia), First Alternate Member Mr Tang Zhengping (China), Second Alternate Member

- 6. The Executive Board is hereby invited to either: (a) reappoint the current member and alternate members; or (b) elect replacements, as member and alternate members, to represent the Governing Council on the Committee to serve for a period of three years ending September 2001.
- 7. Attached is a list of persons who have served to date either as a member or alternate member representing the Governing Council.



MEMBERS AND ALTERNATE MEMBERS REPRESENTING THE GOVERNING COUNCIL ON THE IFAD STAFF PENSION COMMITTEE

MEMBER

A.J. Peckham (United Kingdom)	01.09.78 - 01.09.80
A. Maziq (Libyan Arab Jamahiriya)	19.09.80 - 18.08.82
M. Abdelhadi (Tunisia)	20.04.83 - 12.02.85
Y.A. Hamdi (Egypt)	13.02.85 - 01.12.85
A.E.A. El-Gazzar (Egypt)	30.04.86 - 31.05.88
A.Y.A. Bukhari (Saudi Arabia)	15.09.88 - 26.03.90
M. Deregibus (Argentina)	04.10.90 - 23.06.92
W. Elkhereiji (Saudi Arabia)	09.09.92 - 31.08.94
A. Ben Souleiman Al-Aquil (Saudi Arabia)	13.04.95 - 30.09.95
J. Robles-Aguilar (Mexico)	01.10.95 - 30.09.98
ALTERNATE MEMBER	
ALTERNATE MEMBER S. Aidara (Senegal)	01.09.78 - 12.02.82
	01.09.78 - 12.02.82 01.04.82 - 01.12.83
S. Aidara (Senegal)	
S. Aidara (Senegal) K.E. Norrman (Sweden)	01.04.82 - 01.12.83
S. Aidara (Senegal) K.E. Norrman (Sweden) C.A. Hartman (Finland)	01.04.82 - 01.12.83 01.09.84 - 30.04.87
S. Aidara (Senegal) K.E. Norrman (Sweden) C.A. Hartman (Finland) K. Obata (Japan)	01.04.82 - 01.12.83 01.09.84 - 30.04.87 13.02.88 - 15.03.89
S. Aidara (Senegal) K.E. Norrman (Sweden) C.A. Hartman (Finland) K. Obata (Japan) M. Deregibus (Argentina)	01.04.82 - 01.12.83 01.09.84 - 30.04.87 13.02.88 - 15.03.89 14.09.89 - 03.10.90
S. Aidara (Senegal) K.E. Norrman (Sweden) C.A. Hartman (Finland) K. Obata (Japan) M. Deregibus (Argentina) R. Seifman (United States)	01.04.82 - 01.12.83 01.09.84 - 30.04.87 13.02.88 - 15.03.89 14.09.89 - 03.10.90 14.09.89 - 05.08.91
S. Aidara (Senegal) K.E. Norrman (Sweden) C.A. Hartman (Finland) K. Obata (Japan) M. Deregibus (Argentina) R. Seifman (United States) W. Elkhereiji (Saudi Arabia)	01.04.82 - 01.12.83 01.09.84 - 30.04.87 13.02.88 - 15.03.89 14.09.89 - 03.10.90 14.09.89 - 05.08.91 04.10.90 - 08.09.92
S. Aidara (Senegal) K.E. Norrman (Sweden) C.A. Hartman (Finland) K. Obata (Japan) M. Deregibus (Argentina) R. Seifman (United States) W. Elkhereiji (Saudi Arabia) I. di Giovan Battista (Argentina)	01.04.82 - 01.12.83 01.09.84 - 30.04.87 13.02.88 - 15.03.89 14.09.89 - 03.10.90 14.09.89 - 05.08.91 04.10.90 - 08.09.92 09.09.92 - 30.09.95
S. Aidara (Senegal) K.E. Norrman (Sweden) C.A. Hartman (Finland) K. Obata (Japan) M. Deregibus (Argentina) R. Seifman (United States) W. Elkhereiji (Saudi Arabia) I. di Giovan Battista (Argentina) D. Ertle (Germany)	01.04.82 - 01.12.83 01.09.84 - 30.04.87 13.02.88 - 15.03.89 14.09.89 - 03.10.90 14.09.89 - 05.08.91 04.10.90 - 08.09.92 09.09.92 - 30.09.95 09.09.92 - 30.09.95