

Executive Board 141st Session Rome, 24 April 2024

Appointment of Members to the Subsidiary Bodies of the Executive Board

Document: EB 2024/141/R.15

Agenda: 7(a)

Date: 28 March 2024

Distribution: Public

Original: English

FOR: INFORMATION

Useful references: Appointment of Members to the Subsidiary Bodies of the Executive Board (<u>EB 2021/132/R.11</u> + <u>Add.1</u>); Election of Members and Alternate Members of the Executive Board (<u>GC 47/L.9</u> + <u>Add.1/Rev.1</u>)

Action: The Executive Board is invited to take note of the information provided in the current document and will be requested to approve the proposals contained in its addendum.

Technical questions: Claudia ten Have Secretary of IFAD Office of the Secretary e-mail: c.tenhave@ifad.org

Deirdre Mc Grenra Chief Institutional Governance and Member Relations Office of the Secretary e-mail: igmr@ifad.org

International Fund for Agricultural Development – <u>www.ifad.org</u>

Appointment of Members to the Subsidiary Bodies of the Executive Board

I. Background

- 1. Pursuant to rule 11.1 of its Rules of Procedure, "the Board may establish committees and other subsidiary bodies from among its members". The following committees and working groups have been established by decision of the Board:
 - (a) The Audit Committee was established at the Board's fifteenth session in April 1982. At its 138th session in 2023, the Executive Board approved the revised Terms of Reference and Rules of Procedure of the Audit Committee of the Executive Board (<u>EB 2023/138/R.9/Rev.1</u>).
 - (b) The Evaluation Committee was established at the Board's thirty-second session in December 1987. At its 102nd session in 2011, the Executive Board approved the Terms of Reference and Rules of Procedure of the Evaluation Committee, further revised and approved by the Board in December 2013, in April 2014, and in April 2021 (<u>EB 2021/132/R.6/Rev.1</u>). The Board approved the revised IFAD Evaluation Policy in December 2015, further revised and approved by the Board in April 2021 (<u>EB 2021/132/R.5/Rev.1</u>).
 - (c) The Working Group on the Performance-based Allocation System (PBAS) was established at the Board's eighty-seventh session in April 2006, and the Terms of Reference were approved in December 2006 (<u>EB 2006/89/R.48/Rev.1</u>).
- 2. At its sixty-first session, the Executive Board decided that membership of the Audit Committee and the Evaluation Committee should be in line with the current composition of the Executive Board, as follows:

List A: 4 seats

List B: 2 seats

List C: 3 seats

- 3. The seats would be inclusive of the chairperson.
- 4. It was further decided that the Chair of the Audit Committee would rest permanently with List A and that the Chair of the Evaluation Committee would rest permanently with Lists B and C and the rotation of the Chair would be the prerogative of List B and C members.
- 5. The composition of the PBAS Working Group is aligned with that of the other subsidiary bodies and the Board.
- 6. At its 132nd session in April 2021, the Executive Board endorsed the appointment of the following members to the above subsidiary bodies for a three-year term of office, up to April 2024.

Audit Committee

List A: Germany, Italy, United Kingdom and United States

List B: Algeria and Venezuela (Bolivarian Republic of)

Sub-List C1: Angola

Sub-List C2: China

Sub-List C3: Argentina

Evaluation Committee

List A: France, Ireland, Netherlands (Kingdom of the), Luxembourg (April 2021 – until the first session of the Executive Board in 2022) and Switzerland (after the first session of the Executive Board in 2022 – until the first session of the Executive Board in 2024)

- List B: Indonesia and Nigeria
- **Sub-List C1:** Cameroon (April 2021 until the first session of the Executive Board in 2023) and Egypt (after the first session of the Executive Board in 2023 until the first session of the Executive Board in 2024)

Sub-List C2: India

Sub-List C3: Mexico

Working Group on the Performance-Based Allocation System (PBAS)

List A: Austria, Canada, France and Sweden

List B: Venezuela (Bolivarian Republic of) and Nigeria

Sub-List C1: Côte d'Ivoire

- Sub-List C2: Bangladesh (April 2021 until the first session of the Executive Board in 2022) and Republic of Korea (after the first session of the Executive Board in 2022 until the first session of the Executive Board in 2024)
- **Sub-List C3:** Costa Rica (April 2021 until the first session of the Executive Board in 2022) and Dominican Republic (after the first session of the Executive Board in 2022 until the first session of the Executive Board in 2024)

II. Requested decision

- 7. In accordance with rule 11.1 of its Rules of Procedure, the Executive Board is hereby invited to take note of the information provided in the current document with regard to the appointment of the members of the:
 - (a) Audit Committee
 - (b) Evaluation Committee; and
 - (c) Working Group on the Performance-based Allocation System.
- 8. The members of these committees and working groups will be appointed for a three-year period ending in April 2027.
- 9. An addendum to this document will be prepared and posted for the approval of the Executive Board, showing the proposed composition of the subsidiary bodies.
- 10. The attachment to this document, provided for reference purposes, sets out the new Executive Board composition as elected at the forty-seventh session of the Governing Council, on 15 February 2024 (see GC 47/L.9/Add.1/Rev.1).

Executive Board composition for the three-year term 2024-2026

List and Member	Alternate Member
List A	
Canada	Finland
France	Belgium
Germany	Switzerland
Italy	Austria
Japan	Denmark
Norway	Sweden
Netherlands (Kingdom of the) (2024–2025 until GC48)	United Kingdom (2024–2025 until GC48)
United Kingdom (2025 after GC48–2026)	Netherlands (Kingdom of the) (2025 after GC48–2026)
United States	Spain
List B	
Kuwait	United Arab Emirates
Nigeria	Qatar
Saudi Arabia	Indonesia
Venezuela (Bolivarian Republic of)	Algeria
List C	
Sub-List C1	
Africa	
Egypt (2024–30 June 2025)	Angola (2024–30 June 2025)
Angola (from 1 July 2025–2026)	Egypt (from 1 July 2025–2026)
Cameroon	United Republic of Tanzania (2024–30 June 2025)
	Eritrea (from 1 July 2025–2026)
Sub-List C2	
Europe, Asia and the Pacific	
China	Pakistan
India	Republic of Korea
Sub-List C3	
Latin America and the Caribbean	
Brazil	Argentina
Mexico	Peru