Document: EB 2018/123/R.28

Agenda: 9

Date: 20 March 2018

Distribution: Public

Original: English



## Appointment of Members to the Subsidiary Bodies of the Executive Board

Note to Executive Board representatives

Focal points:

<u>Technical questions:</u> <u>Dispatch of documentation:</u>

William Skinner Alessandra Zusi Bergés
Officer-in-Charge Senior Governing Bodies Officer
Office of the Secretary Governing Bodies
Tel.: +39 06 5459 2974 Tel.: +39 06 5459 2092

e-mail: w.skinner@ifad.org e-mail: gb@ifad.org

Executive Board — 123<sup>rd</sup> Session Rome, 16-17 April 2018

For: Approval

## Appointment of Members to the Subsidiary Bodies of the Executive Board

### Background

- 1. Pursuant to rule 11.1 of its Rules of Procedure, "the Board may establish committees and other subsidiary bodies from among its members". The following committees and working groups have been established by decision of the Board:
  - (a) The Audit Committee was established at the Board's fifteenth session in April 1982. At its ninety-seventh session in 2009, the Executive Board approved the revised Terms of Reference and Rules of Procedure of the Audit Committee of the Executive Board (EB 2009/97/R.50/Rev.1).
  - (b) The Evaluation Committee was established at the Board's thirty-second session in December 1987. At its 102<sup>nd</sup> session in 2011, the Executive Board approved the Terms of Reference and Rules of Procedure of the Evaluation Committee of the Executive Board (document EB 2011/102/R.47/Rev.1, further revised and approved by the Board in December 2013 and in April 2014). The Board approved the revised IFAD Evaluation Policy in December 2015.
  - (c) The Working Group on the Performance-based Allocation System (PBAS) was established at the Board's eighty-seventh session in April 2006, and the Terms of Reference were approved in December 2006 (EB 2006/89/R.48/Rev.1).
- 2. At its sixty-first session, the Executive Board decided that membership of the Audit Committee and the Evaluation Committees should be in line with the current composition of the Executive Board, as follows:

List A: 4 seats List B: 2 seats List C: 3 seats

- 3. The seats would be inclusive of the chairperson.
- 4. It was further decided that the Chair of the Audit Committee would rest permanently with List A and that the Chair of the Evaluation Committee would rest permanently with Lists B and C and the rotation of the Chair would be the prerogative of List B and C members.
- 5. The composition of the PBAS Working Group is aligned with that of the other subsidiary bodies and the Board.

6. At its 114<sup>th</sup> session in April 2015, the Executive Board endorsed the appointment of the following members to the above subsidiary bodies for a three-year term of office, up to April 2018.

#### **Audit Committee**

List A: Germany, Italy, Sweden a and the United States

List B: Algeria and the Bolivarian Republic of Venezuela

Sub-List C1: Angola until 28 February 2016 and Kenya for the period from 1 March 2016 to the end of the term in 2018

Sub-List C2: China Sub-List C3: Argentina

#### **Evaluation Committee**

List A: France, Netherlands, Norway b and Switzerland

List B: Indonesia and Nigeria

**Sub-List C1:** Egypt until 28 February 2017 and Ghana for the period from 1 March 2017 to the end of the term in 2018

Sub-List C2: India
Sub-List C3: Mexico

#### **PBAS Working Group**

List A: France, Ireland, Japan and Sweden

List B: Nigeria and the Bolivarian Republic of Venezuela

Sub-List C1: Liberia until 28 February 2016; Ghana for the period from 1 March 2016 to 28 February

2017; and Angola for the period from 1 March 2017 to the end of the term of office in 2018

Sub-List C2: China

Sub-List C3: Dominican Republic

### II. Requested decision

- 7. In accordance with rule 11.1 of its Rules of Procedure, the Executive Board is hereby invited to approve the appointment of the members of the:
  - (a) Audit Committee
  - (b) Evaluation Committee; and
  - (c) Working Group on the Performance-based Allocation System.
- 8. In addition, should the terms of reference of the Working Group on the Transition Framework be approved at the current session, the Board is hereby invited to also approve the appointment of its members.
- 9. The members of these committees and working groups will be appointed for a three-year period ending in April 2021.
- 10. An addendum to this document will be prepared and posted, showing the members of the subsidiary bodies as appointed by the Executive Board.
- 11. The attachment to this document, provided for reference purposes, sets out the new Executive Board composition as elected at the forty-first session of the Governing Council, on 13 February 2018 (see GC 41/L.10).

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>a</sup> Through a vote by correspondence, the Executive Board approved the nomination of the United Kingdom to replace Sweden on the Audit Committee from April 2017 to April 2018. Upon the approval of the Executive Board, the President appointed the United Kingdom as a member of the Audit Committee. (See EB 2017/120/INF.6.)

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>b</sup> Through a vote by correspondence, the Executive Board, approved the nomination of Japan to replace Norway on the Evaluation Committee composition, from July 2017 to April 2018. Upon approval by the Executive Board, the President appointed Japan as member of the Evaluation Committee. (See EB 2017/121/INF.5.)

Attachment EB 2018/123/R.28

# Executive Board composition for the three-year term 2018-2020

List and Member	Alternate Member
List A	
Canada	Finland
France	Belgium
Germany	Switzerland
Italy	Greece
Japan	Denmark
Norway	Sweden
United Kingdom (2018)	Netherlands (2018)
Netherlands (2019/2020)	United Kingdom (2019/2020)
United States	Spain
(The United Kingdom and the Netherland	nds may alternate seats for the years 2019/2020.)
List B	
Kuwait	United Arab Emirates
Nigeria	Qatar
Saudi Arabia	Indonesia
Venezuela (Bolivarian Republic of)	Algeria
List C	
Sub-List C1	
Africa	
Cameroon (2018)	Egypt (2018)
Kenya (2018)	Angola (2018)
Angola (2019-2020)	Kenya(2019-2020)
Egypt (2019-2020)	Cameroon (2019-2020)
Sub-List C2	
Europe, Asia and the Pacific	
China	Republic of Korea
India	Pakistan (2018-2019)
	Bangladesh (2020)
	at for this new term, sub-list C2 agrees that for the first year of the next new term, namely,
According to the consensus between the Korea would concede its alternate mem	ne Republic of Korea and Pakistan, the Republic of ober seat in 2021 to Pakistan.

## Latin America and the Caribbean

Sub-List C3

Brazil Argentina

Mexico Dominican Republic