Document: EB 2016/118/R.34

Agenda: 18(a)

Date: 24 August 2016

Distribution: Public

Original: English



## Election of representatives of the Governing Council to the IFAD Staff Pension Committee

#### Note to Executive Board representatives <u>Focal points:</u>

<u>Technical questions:</u>

Dispatch of documentation:

Linda Orebi

Secretary of the IFAD Staff Pension Committee

Tel.: +39 06 5459 2857 e-mail: I.orebi@ifad.org William Skinner Chief

Governing Bodies Office Tel.: +39 06 5459 2974 e-mail: gb\_office@ifad.org

Executive Board — 118<sup>th</sup> Session Rome, 21-22 September 2016

For: Approval

#### Recommendation for approval

The Executive Board is invited to approve that:

As the terms of office of all of the representatives of the Governing Council to the IFAD Staff Pension Committee will end on 30 September 2016, the Executive Board is hereby invited to elect replacements (one member and two alternate members) to represent the Governing Council on the Committee. The representatives will serve for a period of three years, ending on 30 September 2019.

### Election of representatives of the Governing Council to the IFAD Staff Pension Committee

1. At its 109<sup>th</sup> session in September 2013, the Executive Board elected the following members and alternate members to represent the Governing Council on the IFAD Staff Pension Committee for a period of three years, ending on 30 September 2016:

Ms Moshibudi Rampedi (South Africa), Member

Ms Donatienne Hissard (France), First Alternate Member

Mr Tareq Aldriweesh (Saudi Arabia), Second Alternate Member

- 2. A list of persons who have served to date as either members or alternate members representing the Governing Council is provided in attachment I.
- 3. Information regarding the representation of the Governing Council on the IFAD Staff Pension Committee can be found in attachment II.
- 4. The current member and alternate member representing the President of IFAD are respectively Mr Pierre Moreau-Péron and Ms Branka Vukadin. Ms Allegra Saitto is serving as member and Mr Liam Chicca as alternate member representing the participants.

Attachment I EB 2016/118/R.34

# Members and alternate members representing the Governing Council on the IFAD Staff Pension Committee

Member	
A.J. Peckham (United Kingdom)	01.09.78 - 01.09.80
A. Maziq (Libya)	19.09.80 - 18.08.82
M. Abdelhadi (Tunisia)	20.04.83 - 12.02.85
Y.A. Hamdi (Egypt)	13.02.85 - 01.12.85
A.E.A. El-Gazzar (Egypt)	30.04.86 - 31.05.88
A.Y.A. Bukhari (Saudi Arabia)	15.09.88 - 26.03.90
M. Deregibus (Argentina)	04.10.90 - 23.06.92
W.E. Khereiji (Saudi Arabia)	09.09.92 - 31.08.94
A.S. Al-Aquil (Saudi Arabia)	13.04.95 - 30.09.95
J. Robles-Aguilar (Mexico)	01.10.95 - 30.09.98
S. Masarweh (Jordan)	01.10.98 - 30.09.00
N. Gangadharan (India)	01.10.00 - 30.09.01
R.J. Huber (Germany)	06.12.01 - 31.12.02
Y. Tensue (Eritrea)	10.04.03 - 30.09.04
B. Dunnzlaff (Germany)	01.10.04 - 31.08.07
A. Zimmerman (Argentina)	01.10.07 - 30.09.10
K. Komape (South Africa)	01.10.10 - 31.12.11
M. Jurgens (South Africa)	04.04.12 - 30.09.13
M. Rampedi (South Africa)	30.09.13 - present
•	, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
Alternate member	01 00 70 10 00 00
S. Aidara (Senegal)	01.09.78 - 12.02.82
K.E. Norrman (Sweden)	01.04.82 - 01.12.83
C.A. Hartman (Finland)	01.09.84 - 30.04.87
K. Obata (Japan)	13.02.88 - 15.03.89
M. Deregibus (Argentina)	14.09.89 - 03.10.90
R.M. Seifman (United States)	14.09.89 - 05.08.91
W.E. Khereiji (Saudi Arabia)	04.10.90 - 08.09.92
I. di Giovan Battista (Argentina)	09.09.92 - 30.09.95
D. Ertle (Germany)	09.09.92 - 30.09.95
A.S. Al-Aquil (Saudi Arabia)	01.10.95 - 30.09.98
Tang Z. (China)	13.04.95 - 30.09.98
K.G. Dilg (Germany)	01.10.98 - 31.12.99
S. Toro (Finland)	01.10.98 - 31.12.02
R.J. Huber (Germany)	04.05.00 - 05.12.01
Y. Tensue (Eritrea)	06.12.01 - 09.04.03
B. Dunnzlaff (Germany)	10.04.03 - 30.09.04
M.S.M.A. Harbi (Sudan)	10.04.03 - 30.09.04
A.S. Al-Aquil (Saudi Arabia)	01.10.04 - 25.05.06
E.R.M. Perera (Sri Lanka)	09.09.04 - 01.06.07
S.N. Mauludiah (Indonesia)	14.09.06 - 22.01.10
A.B. Hønningstad (Norway)	01.10.07 - 30.09.10
D. Rahdiansyah (Indonesia)	01.10.10 - 29.07.11
S. Marguccio (Italy)	01.10.10 - 13.12.12
A. Saptono (Indonesia)	15.09.11 - 30.09.13
D. Hissard (France)	13.12.12 - present
T. Aldriweesh (Saudi Arabia)	30.09.13 - present

Attachment II EB 2016/118/R.34

#### **IFAD Staff Pension Committee**

1. Article 4 of the regulations of the United Nations Joint Staff Pension Fund (UNJSPF), of which IFAD became a member organization on 1 January 1978, provides that the Fund shall be administered by the United Nations Joint Staff Pension Board (UNJSPB), a staff pension committee for each member organization, and a secretariat to the UNJSPB and each such committee. Article 6(c) of the regulations provides that the staff pension committees of the United Nations specialized agencies "shall consist of members and alternate members chosen by the body of the organization corresponding to the General Assembly, its chief administrative officer, and its participants in service, in such a manner that the number representing each shall be equal, and in the case of the participants, that the members and alternate members shall themselves be participants in the service of the organization. Each member organization shall make rules for the election or appointment of the members and alternate members of its committee."

- 2. Pursuant to the aforementioned regulations, the IFAD Staff Pension Committee ("the Committee") was formally constituted on 13 February 1979. The Committee adopted its own rules of procedure, which stipulate that three members and alternates should be appointed or elected for a three-year term and that they should be eligible for reappointment or re-election.
- 3. In accordance with the UNJSPF regulations, the Committee comprises:
  - One member and one alternate from the staff, representing the President of IFAD;
  - One member and one alternate selected by the staff of IFAD; and
  - One member and one alternate selected by the Executive Board on behalf of the Governing Council (in accordance with the Council's delegation of power to the Board under resolution 77/2 adopted at the first session of the Council). However, at the Executive Board meeting in September 1989, it was agreed that one member and two alternates should represent the Governing Council, given that there is normally some degree of turnover on the Board over any three-year period.