EB 2012/107/R.48 Document: Agenda: 18(e) Ε Date: 7 December 2012 Distribution: Public Original: English



Election of representatives of the Governing Council to the IFAD Staff Pension Committee

Note to Executive Board representatives

Focal points:

Technical questions:

Linda Orebi

Secretary of the Pension Committee Tel.: +39 06 5459 2857 e-mail: l.orebi@ifad.org

Dispatch of documentation:

Deirdre McGrenra Head, Governing Bodies Office Tel.: +39 06 5459 2374 e-mail: gb_office@ifad.org

Executive Board -107^{th} Session Rome, 12-13 December 2012

For: Approval

Recommendation for approval

At its 100th session, the Executive Board elected a member and two alternate members to represent the Governing Council on the IFAD Staff Pension Committee for a period of three years, ending on 30 September 2013. As one of the representatives elected will leave Rome, the Executive Board is hereby invited to elect a replacement to serve for the remaining portion of the current term.

Election of representatives of the Governing Council to the IFAD Staff Pension Committee

1. At its 100th session in September 2010, the Executive Board elected the following members and alternate members to represent the Governing Council on the IFAD Staff Pension Committee for a period of three years, ending on 30 September 2013:

Ms Kwena Komape (South Africa), Member

Mr Stefano Marguccio (Italy), First Alternate Member

Mr Danny Rahdiansyah (Indonesia), Second Alternate Member

- 2. Due to the departure of Mr Rahdiansyah and Ms Komape from Rome, the Executive Board at its 103rd session elected Mr Agus Saptono, Multilateral Counsellor of the Embassy of the Republic of Indonesia, to serve for the remaining period of Mr Rahdiansyah's term, and at its 105th session, elected Mr Marc Jürgens, Counsellor Multilateral Affairs, to serve for the remaining period of Ms Komape's term.
- 3. On 5 January 2013, Mr Marguccio will also leave Rome; therefore the Board is invited to elect a new representative of the Governing Council on the Committee to serve for the remaining period of Mr Marguccio's term.
- 4. A list of persons who have served to date as either members or alternate members representing the Governing Council is provided in attachment I.
- 5. Information regarding the representation of the Governing Council on the IFAD Staff Pension Committee can be found in attachment II.
- 6. The current member and alternate member representing the President of IFAD on the Committee are respectively Mr Michael Gehringer and Ms Branka Vukadin, while the member and alternate member representing IFAD staff are respectively Ms Allegra Saitto and Mr Liam Chicca.

Members and alternate members representing the Governing Council on the IFAD Staff Pension Committee

Member

A. J. Peckham (United Kingdom)	01.09.78 - 01.09.80
A. Maziq (Libya)	19.09.80 - 18.08.82
M. Abdelhadi (Tunisia)	20.04.83 - 12.02.85
Y. A. Hamdi (Egypt)	13.02.85 - 01.12.85
A. E. A. El-Gazzar (Egypt)	30.04.86 - 31.05.88
A. Y. A. Bukhari (Saudi Arabia)	15.09.88 - 26.03.90
M. Deregibus (Argentina)	04.10.90 - 23.06.92
W. E. Khereiji (Saudi Arabia)	09.09.92 - 31.08.94
A. S. Al-Aquil (Saudi Arabia)	13.04.95 - 30.09.95
J. Robles-Aguilar (Mexico)	01.10.95 - 30.09.98
S. Masarweh (Jordan)	01.10.98 - 30.09.00
N. Gangadharan (India)	01.10.00 - 30.09.01
R. J. Huber (Germany)	06.12.01 - 31.12.02
Y. Tensue (Eritrea)	10.04.03 - 30.09.04
B. Dunnzlaff (Germany)	01.10.04 - 31.08.07
A. Zimmerman (Argentina)	01.10.07 - 30.09.10
K. Komape (South Africa)	01.10.10 - 31.12.11
M. Jürgens (South Africa)	01.04.12 - Present
Alternate member	
S. Aidara (Senegal)	01.09.78 - 12.02.82
K. E. Norrman (Sweden)	01.04.82 - 01.12.83 01.09.84 - 30.04.87
C. A. Hartman (Finland)	
K. Obata (Japan)	13.02.88 - 15.03.89 14.09.89 - 03.10.90
M. Deregibus (Argentina)	14.09.89 - 05.08.91 14.09.89 - 05.08.91
R. M. Seifman (United States)	
W. E. Khereiji (Saudi Arabia)	04.10.90 - 08.09.92 09.09.92 - 30.09.95
I. di Giovan Battista (Argentina) D. Ertle (Germany)	09.09.92 - 30.09.95
	01.10.95 - 30.09.98
A. S. Al-Aquil (Saudi Arabia)	13.04.95 - 30.09.98
Tang Z. (China)	01.10.98 - 31.12.99
K. G. Dilg (Germany)	
S. Toro (Finland)	01.10.98 - 31.12.02
R. J. Huber (Germany)	04.05.00 - 05.12.01 06.12.01 - 09.04.03
Y. Tensue (Eritrea) B. Dunnzlaff (Germany)	10.04.03 - 30.09.04
	10.04.03 - 30.09.04 10.04.03 - 30.09.04
M. S. M. A. Harbi (Sudan)	
A. S. Al-Aquil (Saudi Arabia)	01.10.04 - 25.05.06
E. R. M. Perera (Sri Lanka)	09.09.04 - 01.06.07
S. N. Mauludiah (Indonesia)	14.09.06 - 22.01.10
A. B. Hønningstad (Norway)	01.10.07 - 30.09.10
D. Rahdiansyah (Indonesia)	01.10.10 - 29.07.11
S. Marguccio (Italy)	01.10.10 - 05.01.13
A. Saptono (Indonesia)	08.09.11 - Present

IFAD Staff Pension Committee

- 1. Article 4 of the regulations of the United Nations Joint Staff Pension Fund (UNJSPF), of which IFAD became a member organization on 1 January 1978, provides that the Fund shall be administered by the United Nations Joint Staff Pension Board (UNJSPB), a staff pension committee for each member organization, and a secretariat to the UNJSPB and each such committee. Article 6(c) of the regulations provides that the staff pension committees of the United Nations specialized agencies "shall consist of members and alternate members chosen by the body of the organization corresponding to the General Assembly, its chief administrative officer, and its participants in service, in such a manner that the number representing each shall be equal, and in the case of the participants, that the members and alternate members shall themselves be participants in the service of the organization. Each member organization shall make rules for the election or appointment of the members and alternate members of its committee."
- 2. Pursuant to the aforementioned regulations, the IFAD Staff Pension Committee ("the Committee") was formally constituted on 13 February 1979. The Committee adopted its own rules of procedure, which stipulate that three members and alternates should be appointed or elected for a three-year term and that they should be eligible for reappointment or re-election.
- 3. In accordance with the UNJSPF regulations, the Committee comprises:
 - one member and one alternate from the staff, representing the President of IFAD;
 - one member and one alternate selected by the staff of IFAD; and
 - one member and one alternate selected by the Executive Board on behalf of the Governing Council (in accordance with the Council's delegation of power to the Board under Resolution 77/2 adopted at the first session of the Council). However, at the Executive Board meeting in September 1989, it was agreed that one member and two alternates should represent the Governing Council, given that there is normally some degree of turnover on the Board over any threeyear period.