Document:	EB 2012/105/R.4	
Agenda:	4(b)	
Date:	23 March 2012	E
Distribution:	Public	_
Original:	English	



Enabling poor rural people to overcome poverty

Appointment of members to the Evaluation Committee

Note to Executive Board representatives

Focal points:

Technical questions:

Dispatch of documentation:

Paolo Ciocca Secretary of IFAD Tel.: +39 06 5459 2254 e-mail: p.ciocca@ifad.org Kelly Feenan Head, Governing Bodies Office Tel.: +39 06 5459 2058 e-mail: gb_office@ifad.org

Executive Board — 105^{th} Session Rome, 3-4 April 2012

For: Approval

Appointment of members to the Evaluation Committee

A. Background

- 1. The Evaluation Committee was established by decision of the Executive Board at the Board's thirty-second session in December 1987, pursuant to rule 11 of the Rules of Procedures of the Executive Board.
- 2. At its sixty-first session, the Executive Board decided that the Evaluation Committee's membership should be in line with the current composition of the Executive Board, as follows:

List A: 4 seats List B: 2 seats List C: 3 seats

- 3. The seats would be inclusive of the chairperson. It was further agreed that the chair of the Evaluation Committee would rest permanently with Lists B and C, and that rotation of the chair was the prerogative of List B and C members.
- 4. At its 102nd session, the Executive Board approved the terms of reference and rules of procedure of the Evaluation Committee, as well as the revised IFAD Evaluation Policy. These new terms of reference and rules of procedure can be accessed on the IFAD website (document EB 2011/102/R.47/Rev.1).
- 5. At its ninety-sixth session, the Executive Board endorsed the appointment of the following members to the Evaluation Committee for a term of office to end in April 2012:

List A: Canada, Ireland, Netherlands¹ and Sweden²

- List B: Indonesia and Nigeria
- List C: Sub-List C1: Egypt (from April 2009 to December 2010) Burkina Faso (from January 2011 to April 2012)

Sub-List C2: India

Sub-List C3: Brazil (from April 2009 to October 2010) Mexico (from November 2010 to April 2012)

B. Requested decision

- 6. In accordance with rule 11.1 of the Rules of Procedures of the Executive Board and rule 1.2 of the Rules of Procedure of the Evaluation Committee, the Executive Board is hereby invited to approve the appointment of the members of the Evaluation Committee for the three-year period ending in April 2015.
- 7. The attachment to this document, provided for reference purposes, sets out the new Executive Board composition as elected at the thirty-fifth session of the Governing Council on 22 February 2012.

¹ At its 103rd session in September 2011, Norway was appointed to replace Netherlands for the remainder of the term of office of the Committee's current composition.

² At its 99th session, the Executive Board approved the appointment of France, to replace Sweden in the Evaluation Committee for the two-year period ending in April 2012. Subsequently, at its 104th session the Board approved the appointment of Luxembourg to replace France for the remaining term of office of the current composition of the Committee.

Executive Board composition for the three-year term 2012-2014

Member

LIST A

Canada France Germany

Italy Japan Netherlands (2012) United Kingdom (2013-2014) Norway United States

Alternate member

Finland Belgium Luxembourg (2012) Switzerland (2013-2014) Portugal Denmark United Kingdom (2012) Netherlands (2013-2014) Sweden Spain

United Arab Emirates

Oatar

Algeria

Indonesia

Egypt (2012)

Mauritius

(The Netherlands and the United Kingdom will alternate seats for the years 2013-2014)

LIST B

Kuwait Nigeria Saudi Arabia Venezuela (Bolivarian Republic of)

LIST C

SUB-LIST C1 Africa

Cameroon (2012) Egypt (April 2013-2014) Angola

SUB-LIST C2 Europe, Asia and the Pacific

China India Pakistan Bangladesh (2012) Turkey (2013) Republic of Korea (2014)

Equatorial Guinea (April 2013-2014)

SUB-LIST C3 Latin America and the Caribbean

Brazil Mexico Argentina Guatemala