Document: EB 2012/105/R.31

Agenda: 12(b)

Date: 23 March 2012

Distribution: Public

Original: English



Appointment of members to the Audit Committee

Note to Executive Board representatives

Focal points:

<u>Technical questions:</u> <u>Dispatch of documentation:</u>

Paolo Ciocca Kelly Feenan

Secretary of IFAD Head, Governing Bodies Office Tel.: +39 06 5459 2254 Tel.: +39 06 5459 2058 e-mail: p.ciocca@ifad.org e-mail: gb_office@ifad.org

Executive Board -105^{th} Session Rome, 3-4 April 2012

For: **Approval**

Appointment of members to the Audit Committee

A. Background

- 1. The Audit Committee was established by decision of the Executive Board at its fifteenth session in April 1982, pursuant to rule 11 of the Rules of Procedures of the Executive Board.
- 2. At its sixty-first session, the Executive Board decided that the Audit Committee's membership should be in line with the current composition of the Executive Board, as follows:

List A: 4 seats List B: 2 seats List C: 3 seats

- 3. The seats would be inclusive of the chairperson. It was further decided that the chair of the Committee would rest permanently with List A.
- 4. In September 2009, the Executive Board approved the revised terms of reference and rules of procedure of the Audit Committee (EB 2009/97/R.50/Rev.1). These new terms of reference and rules of procedure can be accessed on the IFAD website.
- 5. At its ninety-sixth session, the Executive Board endorsed the appointment of the following members to the Audit Committee for a term of office to end in April 2012:

List A: Austria, Italy, Japan¹ and United States

List B: Algeria and Venezuela (Bolivarian Republic of)

List C: Sub-List C1: Angola (from April 2009 to December 2010)

Cameroon (from January 2011 to April 2012)

Sub-List C2: China Sub-List C3: Argentina

B. Requested decision

6. In accordance with rule 11.1 of the Rules of Procedures of the Executive Board, the Executive Board is hereby invited to approve the appointment of the members of the Audit Committee for the three-year period ending in April 2015.

7. The attachment to this document, provided for reference purposes, sets out the new Executive Board composition as elected at the thirty-fifth session of the Governing Council, on 22 February 2012.

¹ At its 102nd session, the Board approved the nomination of the Netherlands as a replacement for Japan on the current composition of the Audit Committee.

Attachment EB 2012/105/R.31

Executive Board composition for the three-year term 2012-2014

Member Alternate member

LIST A

Canada Finland France Belgium

Luxembourg (2012) Germany Switzerland (2013-2014)

Italy Portugal Japan Denmark

Netherlands (2012) United Kingdom (2012) Netherlands (2013-2014) United Kingdom (2013-2014)

Norway Sweden **United States** Spain

(The Netherlands and the United Kingdom will alternate seats for the years 2013-2014)

LIST B

United Arab Emirates Kuwait

Nigeria Qatar Indonesia Saudi Arabia Venezuela (Bolivarian Republic of) Algeria

LIST C

SUB-LIST C1

Africa

Cameroon (2012) Egypt (2012)

Egypt (April 2013-2014) Equatorial Guinea (April 2013-2014)

Mauritius Angola

SUB-LIST C2

Europe, Asia and the Pacific

China Pakistan

India Bangladesh (2012) Turkey (2013)

Republic of Korea (2014)

SUB-LIST C3

Latin America and the Caribbean

Brazil Argentina Mexico Guatemala